Naval Postgraduate School
Calendar | Directory

History of PfP

NATO’s Partnership for Peace (PfP) program was launched in 1994 at the Brussels Summit as a “stepping stone” to NATO membership for the former republics of the Soviet Union in central, eastern, and southeastern Europe.

Since it was established, 12 former PfP member countries have become full NATO members: Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

During the NATO summit in Riga on November 29, 2006, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia were invited to join PfP after which they joined PfP on December 14, 2006.  Presently, there are 22 PfP countries.




This is an official U.S. Navy website.
All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer.
Page Last Updated: Apr 4, 2013 4:04:21 PM | Contact the Webmaster