About Us - Physics

Breadcrumb
Physics - About Us - Main

About Us

The mission of the Department of Physics is to provide relevant and advanced education and research programs in applied physics, tailored to the defense and intelligence needs of the present and future. Physics is the fundamental science that explores matter, energy, and their interactions, and is the key to the development of new technologies.

The technological edge provided by systems such as GPS, IR guided missiles, laser guided bombs, wake-homing torpedoes, mobile satellite communications, underwater acoustic communications, and unmanned aerial vehicle imagery have enabled today’s war-fighter to strike with unprecedented speed, accuracy, and effect. The development of systems such as these requires a deep and creative understanding of the basic disciplines of physics, such as mechanics, electrodynamics, fluid dynamics, sound and vibrations, thermodynamics, quantum physics, solid-state physics, and others.

Our program produces officers who can apply broad technical, scientific and engineering principles to combat systems operation, evaluation, design, and development. Throughout the course of their career and beyond, their education in the fundamental principles of physics prepares them for opportunities to decrease cost, increase quality, and speed development of important projects for the Navy and the DOD. Our graduates fill a spectrum of assignments in the development of future combat systems, working creatively and practically in conceiving, developing, and acquiring advanced combat systems.

Physics - People - Faculty Heading
Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
Fabio Alves
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics,
fdalves@nps.edu
(831) 656-3884

Joe Blau
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 2002
blau@nps.edu
(831) 656-2332

Abram H. Clark
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Duke University, 2014
abe.clark@nps.edu
(831) 656-2732

Keith Cohn
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D, Physics, Stanford
krcohn@nps.edu
(831) 656-2322

Bruce C. Denardo
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, UCLA, 1990
denardo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2952

Raymond Gamache
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1999
rmgamach@nps.edu
(831) 656-7916

Oleg A. Godin
Professor
Chair, Engineering Acoustics Academic Committee
Ph.D., Physics and Mathematics, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, 1984
oagodin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2982

John Hammerer
Professor of the Practice, IAMD Chair
Physics

john.hammerer@nps.edu
(831) 656-1825

Asset Publisher
Dragoslav Grbovic
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics,, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, 2008
dgrbovic@nps.edu
(831) 656-2276

Joseph P. Hooper
Professor And Associate Chair of Research
Ph.D. Physics, Tulane University, 2006
jphooper@nps.edu
(831) 656-2601

Emil P. Kartalov
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Applied Physics, California Institute of Technology, 2004
epkartal@nps.edu
(831) 656-2125

Gamani Karunasiri
Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Physics, University of Pittsburgh, 1984
karunasiri@nps.edu
(831) 656-2886

Andres Larraza
Emeritus Associate Professor
Chair of Undersea Warfare Academic Group
Ph.D. Physics, UCLA, 1987
larraza@nps.edu
(831) 656-3007

Paul Leary
Research Assistant Professor
Physics

pleary@nps.edu

Brian Mason
Research Associate Professor
Physics

brian.mason@nps.edu
(831) 656-2950

Ian R. McNab
Research Professor
Ph.D. Applied Sciences, Reading University, 1974
ian.mcnab@nps.edu
(831) 656-2872

Asset Publisher
Benjamin McGlasson
Research Associate Professor
Physics

ben.mcglasson@nps.edu
(831) 656-2420

Frank Narducci
Associate Professor
Ph.D. in Physics, University of Rochester Department of Physics, 1996
frank.narducci@nps.edu
(831) 656-2635

Renato Rabelo
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Physics

rcrabelo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2540

Craig F. Smith
Research Professor
Ph.D. Nuclear Science and Engineering, UCLA, 1975
cfsmith@nps.edu
(831) 656-2185

Kevin B. Smith
Chairman And Professor
Ph.D. Applied Marine Physics, U. of Miami, 1991
kbsmith@nps.edu
(831) 656-2896

Christopher G. Smithtro
Senior Lecturer Associate Chair for Academics
Ph.D. Physics, Utah State University, 2004
cgsmitht@nps.edu
(831) 656-3939

Warren W. Tomlinson, CDR, USN
Permanent Military Professor
Ph. D. Applied Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 2017
wwtomlin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2877

Physics - People - Title 2
Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
Bob Armstead
Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D. Physics, UC Berkeley, 1964

Steven R. Baker
Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D, UCLA, 1985
srbaker@nps.edu

Brett Borden
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. Physics, University of Texas at Austin, 1986
bhborden@nps.edu

Bill Colson
Emeritus, Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Stanford University, 1977

Asset Publisher
Alfred Cooper
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. Physics, The Queens University of Belfast, 1961

Peter Crooker
Emeritus Senior Lecturer
Ph.D. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1967
ppcrooke@nps.edu
(831) 656-2232

Richard M. Harkins
Emeritus Senior Lecturer
M.S. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1988
rharkins@nps.edu
(831) 656-2828

Andres Larraza
Emeritus Associate Professor
Chair of Undersea Warfare Academic Group
Ph.D. Physics, UCLA, 1987
larraza@nps.edu
(831) 656-3007

James Luscombe
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. Physics, University of Chicago, 1983
luscombe@nps.edu
(831) 656-2431

Asset Publisher
Daphne Kapolka
Emeritus Senior Lecturer
Ph.D. Applied Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1997
dkapolka@nps.edu

Don Walters
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. Physics, Kansas State University, 1971

Karlheinz Woehler
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D. Physics, University of Munich, 1962

David Trask
Emeritus Professor Of The Practice
M.S. Aeronautical Management, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, 2001
dmtrask@nps.edu
(831) 656-2219

Physics - People - Department Staff

Department Staff

Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
Jay Adeff
Supervisory Physicist
M.S. Physics, M.S. Engineering Science, Naval Postgraduate School, 1991, 1999
adeff@nps.edu
(831) 656-3529

Robert Ascio
Physicist
physics
MS Physics, Oklahoma State University,
rascio@nps.edu

Steven Jacobs
Model Maker/Prototype Machinist

sjjacobs@nps.edu
(831) 656-2304

Asset Publisher
Raquel Herold
Administrative Support Specialist
Physics

rherold@nps.edu
(831) 656-3124

Laurie Sheehan
Management and Program Analyst
Physics

laurie.sheehan@np.edu
(831) 656-3408

Mathew Small
Machinist
Physics

mtsmall@nps.edu

ToTheTop Icon
Postdocs/PhD Students heading

Postdocs/PhD Students 


 

Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
Alexandre Guarino
PhD Student
Physics


Jeffrey Lee
NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate
Physics


Jordan Planillo
PhD Student
Physics


Renato Rabelo
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Physics

rcrabelo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2540

faculty associates title

Faculty Associates


 

Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
John Audia
Faculty Associate – Research
Physics

john.audia@nps.edu

Jeffrey Catterlin
Faculty Associate – Research
Physics

jkcatter@nps.edu
(831) 656-7761

Dean Quan
Faculty Associate - Research
Physics

dean.quan@nps.edu

Jacob Kline
Faculty Associate - Research
Physics

jckline@nps.edu
(831) 656-2385

Amanda Coleman
Faculty Associate - Research
Physics

arcolema1@nps.edu

Sufian Alnemrat
Faculty Associate - Research
Physics

smalnemr@nps.edu