Faculty - Cyber Academic Group

CAG Chair

Cyber Academic Group Administration 

CAG Chair

 

Dr. Bret Michael is a professor of computer science and electrical engineering at the Naval Postgraduate School. Dr. Michael applies his expertise in artificial intelligence, formal methods, and distributed computing to advance capabilities for improving the dependability and trustworthiness of national security systems. As the chair of the Cyber Academic Group, Dr. Michael leads the NPS' interdisciplinary education and research programs in cyber operations.

His full faculty profile is available here.

 

Associate Chair

LTC Michael Senft is an Army Functional Area 26A Information Network Engineering Officer, currently serving as a Military Faculty Lecturer in the Computer Science Department at the Naval Postgraduate School. His operational experience includes tours supporting Joint, Special Operations and Intelligence Community organizations. His academic experience includes Master’s degrees in Computer Science and Network Operations from the Naval Postgraduate School and a Master’s degree in Engineering Management from Washington State University. He has research interests in the areas of cybersecurity, cyber situational awareness, and network graphs.

Nested Applications
Asset Publisher
Alex Bordetsky
Chair
Information Sciences
Ph.D, Chelyabinsk State Technical University of Russia, 1982
abordets@nps.edu

Thomas Albright
Professor
Graduate School of Defense Management (GSDM)
Ph.D., The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, 1990
tlalbrig@nps.edu

David Alderson
Professor
Department of Operations Research
Ph.D., Stanford University, School of Engineering, Department of Management Science and Engineering, 2003
dlalders@nps.edu
Modeling, analysis, and management of the Internet and other network-centric infrastructures; Optimization-based reverse engineering of complex network systems; Attacker-Defender Models for Critical Infrastructure Systems; Resiliency of Cyber-Physical Systems

John Arquilla
Professor Emeritus
Defense Analysis
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1991
jarquilla@nps.edu
Revolution in military affairs, information-age conflict, and irregular warfare.

Kathryn Aten
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Defense Management (GSDM)
Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2009
kjaten@nps.edu
Technology adoption, technology-mediated collaboration and learning, technology inclusion and adjustment.

Dan Boger
Professor Emeritus
Information Sciences
Ph.D., UC Berkley, 1979
dboger@nps.edu

Chad Bollmann
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 2018
cabollma@nps.edu
Networking, Cyber Security, Signal Processing

Doug Brinkley
Senior Lecturer
Graduate School of Defense Management (GSDM)
Ph.D., Nova Southeastern University, 2003
brinkley@nps.edu
Instructional technology and distance education, information technology management, local area network administration, and IT support optimization.

Ray Buettner
Associate Professor
Department of Information Sciences
Ph.D., Civil and Environmental Engineering, Stanford University
rrbuettn@nps.edu
Design of multi-institutional semi structured learning environments (MISSLEs) and the evolving command, control and organization challenges associated with the use of robotics and autonomous systems for military applications. 

David Canright
Associate Professor
Department of Mathematics
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, Department of Mechanical Engineering
DCanright@NPS.edu
Cryptography, Fluid Dynamics, Materials Processing, Fractal Geometry, Orbital Mechanics

Rudy Darken
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science
DSc., George Washington University, 1995
darken@nps.edu
Virtual environments, usability engineering, training systems, wireless mobile computing, Artificial intelligence, machine learning, and human cognition and behavior models for simulations.

Duane Davis
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 2006
dtdavi1@nps.edu
Robotic swarms and cooperative multi-vehicle systems, ethics in autonomous systems, robot control architectures, and cyber operations policy and strategy.

Dorothy Denning
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department of Defense Analysis
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1975
dedennin@nps.edu
Conflict in Cyberspace; Cyber Security; Trust, Influence and Networks

Peter Denning
Chair, Computer Science
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., MIT, 1968
pjd@nps.edu
Technology and transformation, data science, foundational practices of innovation, great principles of computing, STEM education.

George Dinolt
Professor of Practice in Cyber Operations
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1971
gwdinolt@nps.edu

Chris Eagle
Senior Lecturer
Department of Computer Science
MS, Naval Postgraduate School, 1995
cseagle@nps.edu
Computer Network Attack/Defense/Exploitation, Computer Forensics, Reverse Engineering.

Christian Fitzpatrick
Faculty Associate for Research
Computer & Information Programs Office
MS, Naval Postgraduate School, 2009
christian.fitzpatrick@nps.edu

Douglas J. Fouts
Professor and Chair
Electrical and Computer Engineering
PhD/UC Santa Barbara/Electrical and Computer Engineering,
fouts@nps.edu
Computer Architecture, Computer Systems Architecture, Embedded Systems

Michael Freeman
Professor
Department of Defense Analysis
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2001
mefreema@nps.edu
Terrorism and Democracy; Causes of Terrorism; Counter-terrorism Policy; International Security; U.S. Foreign Policy; International Relations Theory

Asset Publisher
Bob Garza
Lecturer
Department of Information Sciences
MS, Golden Gate University, 2000
vrgarza@nps.edu

Scott Jasper
Lecturer
National Security Affairs
Ph.D., University of Reading, U.K., 2018
sejasper@nps.edu
Cyber Security Policy and Practice, Cyber Deterrence Strategies

Thor Martinsen
Assistant Professor
Applied Mathematics
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 2017
tmartins@nps.edu
Cryptography & Coding Theory, Cyber Warfare, Computer Security, Electronic Warfare

Ted Huffmire
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara, 2007
tdhuffmi@nps.edu
Computer Architecture, Computer Security

 Luqi
Professor
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1986
luqi@nps.edu
Cyber Security, Risk Assessment, Cognitive Modeling, Runtime Monitoring, Cyber-Physical Systems, Autonomous Systems, Network & Communications Systems, Distributed Systems of Systems, and C4ISR Modeling and Simulation, Data Science, Document Conversion, Reliable Software Architectures, Rapid Prototyping & Agile Methods for Software Automation.

Ryan Maness
Assistant Professor
Defense Analysis Department
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Political Science, 2013
rmaness@nps.edu

Britta Hale
Assistant Professor
Computer Science
PhD in Telematics, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Department of Information Security and Communication Technology
britta.hale@nps.edu
Cryptography and information security. Current research interests include the design and analysis of cryptographic key exchange and authentication protocols, and secure channels.

Chris Manuel
Professor of Practice
Information Sciences
Irregular Warfare, NPS, Defense Analysis
cemanuel1@nps.edu
Emerging Technology

John D. (JD) Fulp
Senior Lecturer
Department of Computer Science
MS, Naval Postgraduate School, 1996
jdfulp@nps.edu
Implementation of Public Key Infrastructure, Design of Secure Networks

Ray Jones
Lecturer
Graduate School of Defense Management (GSDM)
MS, National Defense University, 2006
rdjone1@nps.edu

Randy Maule
Research Associate Professor
Department of Information Science
Ph.D., University of Florida, 1987
rwmaule@nps.edu

John McEachen
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Yale University, 1995
mceachen@nps.edu
Steganographic communications, complexity theory applied to network infrastructure, video distribution and analysis over computer networks, computer network security.

Thuy Nguyen
Research Associate
Department of Computer Science
B.A., University of California at San Diego, 1982
tdnguyen@nps.edu
Advanced Topics in Computer Security, Trusted Operating Systems and Kernels, Multilevel Security Applications, Common Criteria Evaluation for High Robustness Systems, Secure Web Services

Cynthia Irvine
Distinguished Professor and Director, Center for Information Systems Security Studies and Research
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., Case Western University, 1975
irvine@nps.edu
Cybersecurity, cyber operations, high assurance security engineering, network & distributed system security, security requirements engineering, cybersecurity education, multilevel security

Wade L. Huntley
Senior Lecturer, NSA
NSA
Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley, 1993
wlhuntle@nps.edu
Cyber policy and strategy, nuclear, biological and chemical weapons: proliferation and non-proliferation, northeast Asian security, and international relations theory and practice.

Asset Publisher
Armon Barton
Assistant Professor
Computer Science

armon.barton@nps.edu

Walter Owen
Associate Chair Distributed Programs & Outreach
Department of Systems Engineering
DPA, Golden Gate University, 2003
wowen@nps.edu
Defense Systems Acquisition, Systems Engineering, General Management, Public Administration, Distributed and Distance Learning

Howard Pace Jr.
Professor of the Practice
GSBPP
MSEE, BSEE NPS EE, BSME University of Washington
howard.pace@nps.edu
Cybersecurity in DOD Acquisitions, Disruptive Technologies, Rapid Acquisition, Space Systems

Mark Rhoades
Senior Lecturer
Department of Systems Engineering & Space Systems Academic Group
MS, Naval Postgraduate School, 2006
mmrhoade@nps.edu
Risk analysis and management, systems engineering, systems architecture, systems assessment and reliability, space systems technologies and applications.

Clark Robertson
Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 1983
crobertson@nps.edu
Spread spectrum communications, wireless local area networks, cellular communications.

Neil Rowe
Professor
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1983
ncrowe@nps.edu
Applied Artificial Intelligence

Michael Senft
MILFAC Lecturer 
Computer Science
Master, Naval Postgraduate School
michael.senft@nps.edu
Cyber Deception / Network Graphs  / Cyberspace Operations

Alan Shaffer
Senior Lecturer
Department of Information Science
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 2008
abshaffe@nps.edu
Security modeling of systems; high assurance system verification; formal methods analysis; network virtualization.  Research interests moving toward data science and cloud computing.

Larry Shattuck
Senior Lecturer
Department of Operations Research
Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 1995
lgshattu@nps.edu
Teaching Human Factors Engineering; Experience Engineering Psychology Design and Applications; Experimental Psychology; Human-Computer Interaction; Human Error; Anthropometrics and Biomechanics; General Psychology

Gurminder Singh
Professor
Department of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Alberta, Canada, 1989
gsingh@nps.edu

Keith Snider
Professor of Public Administration and Management
Graduate School of Defense Management (GSDM)
Ph.D., Virginia Tech, 1997
ksnider@nps.edu
Defense acquisition policy and project management

Pante Stanica
Professor
Applied Mathematics Department
Ph.D. and Doctorate, Ph.D. in Mathematics, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1998; Doctorate in Mathematics, University of Bucharest, 1998
pstanica@nps.edu
Cryptography, Boolean functions, Number Theory, Discrete Mathematics, Combinatorics.

Preetha Thulasirama
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Canada, 2010
pthulas1@nps.edu
Wireless and cyber networks, cybersecurity

Kristen Tsolis
Lecturer
Department of Defense Analysis
M.S., Monterey Institute of International Studies
ktsolis@nps.edu

Lonnie Wilson
Professor Emeritus
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1973
wilson@nps.edu
Radar, EW-ES Receivers, digital signal processing, EA jamming, counter RF IEDs receivers.