Categories Navigation Categories Navigation

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Faculty

Donald Abenheim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
European Security, Central Europe
Glasgow Hall, Room 315
dabenheim@nps.edu
(831) 656-2208

David Anderson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
U.S. Foreign Relations and National Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 330
dlanders@nps.edu
(831) 656-6452

Naazneen Barma, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 246, 681, and 688
State-building, Peace-building, Political Economy of Development, Natural Resource Governance
Glasgow Hall, Room 355
nhbarma@nps.edu
(831) 656-6250

Anne Marie Baylouny, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Middle East, Refugees, Islam, Social Welfare
Glasgow Hall, Room 393
ambaylou@nps.edu
(831) 656-2739

Thomas Bruneau, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Civil-Military Relations, Latin American Politics and Security, Contracting out Security, Intelligence Reform in New Democracies
Hermann Hall-West, Room 415
tbruneau@nps.edu
(831) 238-1454

Anshu Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Lecturer
South Asia, Civil Society, Political Parties, the Media
Glasgow hall, Room 351
anchatte@nps.edu
(831) 656-6253

Anne Clunan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
International Security, Brazilian and Russian National Identity
Glasgow Hall, Room 391
alclunan@nps.edu
(831) 656-2904

Erik Dahl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Instruction, Academic Associate for PhD Security Studies
Intelligence, Terrorism, Homeland Security, IR Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 356
ejdahl@nps.edu
(831) 656-3168

Christopher Darnton, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 248, 249, 683, and 684
Latin America, International Relations
Glasgow Hall, Room 361
cndarnto@nps.edu
(831) 656-7729

Peter Frank, COL (Germany)

Visiting Lecturer, Military Professor
Europe (EU, CSDP), NATO, and International Relations (IR)
Glasgow Hall, Room 307
pfrank1@nps.edu
(831) 656-1036

Ryan Gingeras, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Turkey, Middle East, Balkans, Organized Crime
Glasgow Hall, Room 310
rgingera@nps.edu
(831) 656-1118

Michael Glosny, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 247 and 682
Chinese Foreign Policy, East Asian Security, Rise of Great Powers, International Relations Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 362
maglosny@nps.edu
(831) 656-3654

Mohammed Mahmoud Hafez, Ph.D.

Chair, Associate Professor
Middle East, Islamism, Jihadism, Terrorism
Glasgow Hall, Room 319B
mmhafez@nps.edu
(831) 656-7660

Carolyn Halladay, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Curricula 685, 686, 691, 692, and 693
German and Central European History and Politics, Cultural History, Law and National Security, International Law, Nationalism, Political Extremism
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
cchallad@nps.edu
(831) 656-6256

Wade Huntley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, RSEP Academic Director
Cyber Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation, East Asian Regional Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 353
wlhuntle@nps.edu
(831) 656-7903

Scott Jasper

Lecturer
Defense Strategy, Hybrid Warfare, Cyber Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 301
sejasper@nps.edu
(831) 656-2913

Thomas Johnson

Associate Research Professor
Afghanistan, Central Asia, Insurgency, Counterinsurgency
Glasgow Hall, Room 359
thjohnso@nps.edu
(831) 656-3190

S. Paul Kapur, Ph.D.

Professor
International Relations, Nuclear Proliferation, South Asian Politics and Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 363
spkapur@nps.edu
(831) 656-3858

Feroz Khan, BG (Retired)

Lecturer
South Asia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nuclear Strategy and Proliferation
Glasgow Hall, Room 360
fhkhan@nps.edu
(831) 656-3043

Letitia Lawson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Political Economy of Development in African Neopatrimonial States
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
lllawson@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

Robert Looney, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
Economies of the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. Energy Security, and Economic Intelligence
Glasgow Hall, Room 305
relooney@nps.edu
(831) 656-3484

Tristan Mabry, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict, Identity Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 343
tjmabry@nps.edu
(831) 656-7528

Michael Malley, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Executive Director of PASCC/CCC
Southeast Asia, Indonesia, International Relations, Comparative Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
msmalley@nps.edu
(831) 656-2409

Cristiana Matei, Ph.D.

Lecturer, CCMR Program Manager
Latin America, Intelligence and Democracy
Building 259, Room 215
cmatei@nps.edu
(831) 656-2366

Emily Meierding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Energy, Environmental Security, International Conflict, Cooperation
Glasgow Hall, Room 348
elmeierd@nps.edu
831-656-2798

Covell Meyskens, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
China, East Asia, Modern World History
Glasgow Hall, Room 354
cfmeyske@nps.edu
(831) 656-3293

Clay Moltz, Ph.D.

Professor
Space, Nuclear Strategy, East Asia, Russia
Glasgow Hall, Room 394
jcmoltz@nps.edu
(831) 656-1039

Daniel Moran, Ph.D.

Professor
Modern International and Military History, Strategic Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 316
djmoran@nps.edu
(831) 656-2059

Rodrigo Nieto-Gomez, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
Geopolitics, Strategy, Mexico, Innovation, North America
Glasgow Hall, Room 344
rnietogo@nps.edu
(831) 656-6254

Afshon Ostovar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Iran, Middle East, Armed Groups, Conflict, Islam, Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 357
apostova@nps.edu
831-656-1862

Jessica Piombo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Sub-Saharan Africa, South Africa, African Security, US Engagement in Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 374
jrpiombo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2831

Douglas Porch, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Counterinsurgency, North Africa Military History
Glasgow Hall, Room 312
dporch@nps.edu
(831) 656-1038

Maria Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Terrorism, Counter-terrorism, Civil Protection
Glasgow hall, Room 304
mrasmussen@nps.edu
(831) 656-3673

James Russell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Politics and Security in the Gulf States, U.S. Security Strategy in the Persian Gulf and the Middle East, Nuclear Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 395
jarussel@nps.edu
(831) 656-2109

Zachary Shore, Ph.D.

Professor
20th-Century International History, Foreign Policy Decision Making
Glasgow Hall, Room 333
zshore@nps.edu
(831) 656-3358

Rachel Sigman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics, Political Economy of Development, Sub-Saharan Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 397
rlsigman@nps.edu
(831) 656-3985

T. Bruce Sweeney, COL

Visiting Lecturer, FAO Chair, Military Professor
US Foreign and Defense Policy, Army Foreign Area Officer, Defense Attaché
Glasgow Hall, Room 334
tbsweene@nps.edu
(831) 656 7753

Mikhail Tsypkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Russia, Military Power, Eurasia
Glasgow Hall, Room 313
mtsypkin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2218

Christopher Twomey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Research, Director of CCC
International Relations, Asian Security, Chinese Foreign Policy, Strategic Deterrence
Glasgow Hall, Room 376
ctwomey@nps.edu
(831) 656-3543

Robert Weiner, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Asia, Japan, the Koreas, Comparative Politics, Democratic Institutions and Governance, Research Methods
Glasgow Hall, Room 375
rjweiner@nps.edu
(831) 656-3952

James Wirtz, Ph.D.

Dean of SIGS, Professor
International Relations Theory, Intelligence, Deterrence, Strategy, Security Studies
Hermann Hall-West, Room 414
jwirtz@nps.edu
(831) 656-3483

Chloe Woida, Contractor

Lecturer
Writing, Research, National Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 346
cdwoida@nps.edu
(831) 656-1080

Glen Woodbury

Director of Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Homeland Security, Emergency Management, State and Local Governance
Watkins Hall, Room 372
glwoodbu@nps.edu
(831) 656-3038

David Yost, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
NATO, Europe, France, Nuclear Deterrence, U.S. Foreign and Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 317
dyost@nps.edu
(831) 656-3292

Thomas-Durell Young, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Certificate Program Curriculum 245
Defense Planning, Defense Management, Defense Institutions, International Economics
Building 259, Room 220
tdyoung@nps.edu
(831) 656-2011